Ali’s Guyanese Sponge Cake

by Ali & the Brave Kitchen

If there is anything all Guyanese have eaten, it’s sponge cake; particularly at Christmas time.  Well, I decided to go ahead and make sure that I had this sponge cake thing down by the time Christmas came to hopefully start a friendly rivalry between my aunt Gem, who is FAMOUS for her sponge cake, and I.

I foraged the internet for recipes for sponge cake, because I couldn’t good and well call my aunt Gem and ask her for hers and accidentally drop a dime on my own little scheme. And what I found was, if it’s one thing people have a lot of, it’s recipes for sponge cakes.   Well, I can tell you they’re not all good, I found what I thought was going to be awesome and went to it.  Unbeknownst to me, this had too many new additives to it for it to be the sponge cake I knew and loved with a cold glass of milk.  It was a nice cake and tasted really good, my dog twinks even liked it; but it wasn’t what I wanted.

So, I went back into my kitchen, the brave soul that it is, and decided that I would create my OWN sponge cake recipe.  My brain went to working overtime, deciding what I did and didn’t like  and voila, Ali’s Guyanese Sponge Cake!  And what do you know, it was just what I thought it would be!!  I am a cook by taste, for the most part, more than strict adherence to a recipe; so, if it doesn’t taste like I think it should, I keep playing with it till it does.  And so, Ali’s Guyanese Sponge Cake recipe was born!!

Here are a couple pics of the process:

Batter with all ingredients

Batter in pan with Baker’s Joy instead of traditional butter and flour

(I hate flouring cake pans, I really do.)

Fresh out the oven, don’t let the top of the cake fool you! 

A slice of heaven for you! :)

Ali’ Guyanese Sponge Cake

Ingredients:

  • 8oz (2 sticks) of butter
  • 1 cup  of sugar
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 & 1/2 cups of flour
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 lemon zest
  • 1/2 orange zest
  • 1 & 1/4 tsp mixed/vanilla essence
  • 1/2 cup evaporated milk

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees
  2. Butter and eggs should be at room temperature.
  3. Sift all the dry ingredients together (flour, baking powder, nutmeg).
  4. Cream butter and sugar together to a smooth consistency (shouldn’t be overly granulated by the sugar).
  5. Lightly beat eggs, zests, and essence together.
  6. Add eggs a little at a time to the butter and sugar mixture to get a smooth, golden consistency.
  7. Add the flour and milk in 1/3s to the wet ingredients until you have incorporated all the flour and milk into the batter.
  8. Butter and flour your pan and pour mixture into pan (you can use baker’s joy spray if you want to cheat a little like I did).
  9. Bake at 350 degrees for 35 minutes depending on your oven check after 30 minutes to see if it is done by sliding a tooth pick into the center of the cake, if it comes out clean it’s ready!! If not, put it back into the oven for no more than 10 minutes.
  10. Let the cake cool, serve, enjoy!!
